Have Yourself A Soulful Little Christmas – A Kenny Burrell classic On Moochin’ About…

Have Yourself a Soulful Little Christmas is an album of Christmas music by guitarist Kenny Burrell and possibly one of the greatest Christmas albums of all time….

the album was recorded in 1966 and features some Christmas classics, played in the stylish and classy Burrell way….


Burrell was born in Detroit, Michigan. Both his parents played instruments, and he began playing guitar at the age of 12. He went on to study composition and theory with Louis Cabara and classical guitar with Joe Fava. While a student at Wayne State University, he made his recording debut as a member of Dizzy Gillespie’s sextet in 1951, followed by the “Rose of Tangier”/”Ground Round” single recorded under his own name at Fortune Records in Detroit. While in college, Burrell founded the New World Music Society collective with fellow Detroit musicians Pepper Adams, Donald Byrd, Elvin Jones…


01 The Little Drummer Boy
02 Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
03 My Favorite Things
04 Away in a Manger
05 Mary’s Little Boy Chile
06 White Christmas
07 God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
08 The Christmas Song
09 Go Where I Send Thee
10 Silent Night
11 Twelve Days of Christmas
12 Merry Christmas Baby

Released: 1966

October, 1966
Ter-Mar Recording Studios, Chicago, IL
Recording Engineer: Doug Brand

Kenny Burrell(g)
Richard Evans(cond)


God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen…


Download album…